CD Akathist to the Nativity of Christ. Christmas Carols

In stock

You can also buy the downloadable version of this CD

Akathists are special laudatory hymns in honor of the Savior, the Mother of God, saints. Carol is a Christmas ritual song, the Old Slavic analogue of Western Christmas carols.

Akathists consist of 25 songs, which are arranged in the order of the letters of the Greek alphabet: 13 kontakia and 12 ikos (“kontakion” - a short laudatory song; “ikos” - a lengthy song). Ikos end with the exclamation "rejoice", and kontakia - "Hallelujah" (in Hebrew - "praise God").

Our ancestors sang carols on the main winter holiday instead of the now familiar American "Jingle Bells" or the Soviet "A Christmas tree was born in the forest."

Sung by the Monastic Choir of St Elisabeth Convent, Minsk.


Akathist to the Nativity of Christ (in Church Slavonic):
01. Troparion
02. The Akathist
03. Kontakion. Greek chant

Christmas carols (folk song, traditionally sung on Christmas):
04. The Nativity of Christ
05. This Night Is Holy
06. O Christmas Tree
07. Last Night (in Belarusian)
08. Moon Was Walking in the Sky
09. Christmas Night
10. O Virgin Theotokos. Irina Boldysheva
11. Heaven and Earth
12. Goodnight. Old German folk song
13. Today Christ Is Born

Studio in honor of St. John the Warrior, St. Elisabeth Convent

More Information
Weight 0.100000
Write Your Own Review
You're reviewing:CD Akathist to the Nativity of Christ. Christmas Carols
Your Rating
CD Akathist to the Nativity of Christ. Christmas Carols